A governor-appointed board of six trustees sets APFC policy. Alaska law provides that the APFC Board be comprised of four public members, the Commissioner of Revenue and one additional cabinet member of the governor's choosing. Public members serve staggered four-year terms.

Meeting schedule Meeting minutes  


Bill Moran

Bill Moran, Chair, reappointed 2014

Mr. Moran is President and director of First Bancorp, Inc., and has served as Director for Community Bancshares since 2001. His community activities include the Ketchikan Pioneers Home Foundation, First City Players and British Petroleum Community Advisory Board. He is a member of the Alaska Bankers Association and the Alaska Forest Association. Mr. Moran holds a degree in Business Administration and Finance from the University of Notre Dame. He and his wife Anita have two grown sons. Mr. Moran was first appointed to the APFC board in November, 2006, by Governor Murkowski, to a four-year term. Mr. Moran served as Vice-Chair from 2007 - 2010.

Carl Brady, Vice-Chair, reappointed 2015

Mr. Brady had been an insurance executive in Anchorage since 1967, retiring at the end of 2008. He currently serves on the Board of Trustees of Alaska Pacific University, and is a community advisory board member for Wells Fargo Bank Alaska and the Alaskan Command Civilian Advisory Board. In previous years, he was the Honorary Consul of Belgium and served as a National Trustee of Boys & Girls Clubs of America. Governor Sean Parnell appointed Mr. Brady to the Board of Trustees of the Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation in July, 2011, for a term ending July 1, 2015.  Mr. Brady has served three times on the Board: from 1991-1995, from 2003-2009, and from 2011 through the present.  He has also served as Chair from 1992-1993, and from 2003-2007.

 Larry Cash

Larry Cash, appointed 2013

Mr. Cash is President and CEO of RIM Architects, which he founded in 1986. RIM is headquartered in Anchorage, Alaska, with offices in San Francisco, Honolulu and Hagåtña, Guam. His community activities include serving as a member and chair of the Anchorage Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors and the State Advisory Board for the University of Alaska Small Business Development Center. Mr. Cash has served on Northrim Bank’s Board of Directors since 1995. He received a Bachelor of Architecture degree with Honors from Auburn University.  Initially registered in California, he is also registered in Alaska, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands, and 14 additional states.  He is a member of the American Institute of Architects. Mr. Cash was appointed to the APFC Board in August, 2013 by Governor Parnell, for a four-year term.

Randall Hoffbeck, appointed 2014

Mr. Hoffbeck has 30+ years of experience in tax administration, valuation, and appraisal of real estate.  The majority of that time being spent in the administration and valuation of property for taxation purposes for government entities.  The last 20 years he has either been directly involved in, or has assisted the Department of Revenue and the North Slope Borough in, the administration and valuation of North Slope properties.  As a contractor to the Tax Division through a sub-contract with Dudley A. Platt & Associates from 1999-2001, and then as Petroleum Property Assessor for the State of Alaska from 2001-2006, he was the lead appraiser in the valuation and administration of tax assessments on all oil and gas properties in the State of Alaska. From 2006-2011 Mr. Hoffbeck served as the Director of Administration and Finance and CFO for the North Slope Borough before being appointed Chief of Staff in 2012.  In late 2012 he retired from government service to focus on the completion of a Master of Divinity Degree which was completed in October 2014.  Mr. Hoffbeck joined the APFC Board when he was appointed to the position of Commissioner of Revenue by Governor Bill Walker.

Marty Rutherford, appointed 2016

Marty Rutherford has a long history of public service to Alaska and deep roots as a lifelong Alaskan. She has held leadership positions in state government for nearly three decades and is honored to be able to give back to the state that has given her and her family so much. In serving on the Board of Trustees, Marty is following in the footsteps of her late father, John Kelsey, who was one of the longest serving APFC Trustees from 1987-1995. Marty has considerable experience in the oil and gas sector as well as the development of state natural resource law and policy. She recently retired from state service and her role as the Department of Natural Resources Acting Commissioner, a position she was appointed to in 2016. She has lent her natural resource experience and expertise to the state several times, having served as the DNR Deputy Commissioner from 1992 to 2005, from 2006 to 2010, and from late 2014 until her retirement in 2016. She has also served as a director and a deputy commissioner in the Department of Community and Regional Affairs that is now part of the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development, as well as the Executive Director of the Alaska Mental Health Trust Lands Office. Governor Bill Walker appointed Marty Rutherford to serve on the APFC Board of Trustees in July 2016, for a four-year term.


Sheldon Fisher, appointed 2016

Sheldon Fisher has more than 20 years of experience in private sector management focusing on business development and operations. Sheldon served as the Chief Operating Officer for McKinley Capital Management in Anchorage before being appointed Commissioner of the Department of Administration in December 2014. Prior to McKinley, he spent 15 years in the telecommunications industry, including time with Hughes Electronics, Sprint and most recently six years as senior vice president at Alaska Communications. He holds an economics degree from Brigham Young University and a law degree from Yale University. As the head of the Department of Administration, Commissioner Fisher directs all centralized administrative services for state agencies, including finance, risk management, personnel, labor relations, building management, IT, and retirement and benefits. Commissioner Fisher also serves as a trustee for the Alaska Retirement Management Board, which has fiduciary responsibility for the assets of the state’s retirement systems. Governor Bill Walker appointed Commissioner Fisher to serve on the APFC Board of Trustees in July 2016.